What we really eat #3

Hello! Thanks to the Easter holidays, it’s been a few weeks since my last post in this series. Last week the post-holiday slump hit us and we’ve all been really tired. It’s been hard to motivate myself to cook healthy meals and I would have loved for someone to come and cook for me! Here’s what we had last week for our weekday dinners…

Monday: Fish Fingers and pittas

IMG_0757

Not the most exciting meal tonight – the pittas were a bit dry and dull for the adults in the house. My children – who have a weird liking for dry, bland food – were delighted by the simplicity.

Tuesday: Macaroni Cheese

DSCF9633

Delicious – the best meal of the week by far. This is my four-year-old’s favourite meal (apart from fish fingers, obviously) and he ate it all. Everyone else loves it too. The bits on top are sliced tomatoes, covered with grated cheese. A perfect partner for my treasured vintage Pyrex dish.

Wednesday: Soup and cheese scones

IMG_0754

This was a simple vegetable soup (leeks, carrots, celery, swede and tinned tomatoes) which should have been really nice. However, I was gripped watching the new Thunderbirds with the boys and forgot I’d left the hob on high in the kitchen – soup boiled dry and burnt. Soup was resurrected with extra stock, but it tasted a bit funny and I hated it by that point. So, we mainly ate scones.

Thursday: Beef stew with rice

IMG_0755

Stew, made with stewing steak, carrots, celery and swede. This was ok, but could’ve done with a bit of extra cooking time to thicken it up.

Friday: French bread pizzas

IMG_0756

Anyone remember these from their childhood? This is our homemade version – French bread spread with tomato puree and grated cheese, then toasted under the grill. The four-year-old is a pizza-hater, but will happily eat these. No, I don’t understand the logic of that one either! Husband charitably described them as the sort of snack you used to find in Eastern European bars – I think the corner-shop lager prompted the comparison. Anyway, these are cheap and cheerful.

My verdict: I didn’t particularly enjoy cooking or eating most of the meals this week (with the exception of the macaroni cheese), hopefully next week will feel more inspiring!

1 thought on “What we really eat #3

Leave a comment